Posted by: tonyteaching | September 14, 2013

E-MAIL Words, Phrases, & Sentences

Title

  • Courtesy Notice
  • Event Partnership: …..

Calling name

  • Dear Tony,
  • Hi Tony,
  • Tony,
  • Hi all staff and students,

Salutation

Dear Mr ….
Dear Ms …..
Dear Sir
Dear Sirs
Dear Madam
Dear Sir or Madam
Gentlemen

 

Starting

Very formal
“Might I take a moment of your time…”
“Please may I introduce myself…”
“Many thanks again for your time.”
We are writing to inform you that … / to confirm …/ to request …/ to enquire about …
I would be interested in (obtaining/receiving) …
I received your address from … and would like to …
I am writing to tell you about …

More informal/friendly
“I’m just emailing to ask…” (to begin the email)
“I’m a friend of Bob’s…” (to begin the email)
I am contacting you for the following reason.
I recently read/heard about . . . and would like to know . . .
Having seen your advertisement in … , I would like to …

 

Introduction

  • Apologies for cross-postings. Please send it to interested
    colleagues and students. Thanks!
  • I am delighted to advise you that ……
  • Please be advised that effective from……the school has approved…
  • = I am also delighted to announce that ….
  • = I am also delighted tolet you know that ….
  • I would like to take the opportunity of thanking staff involved in the project, who I know have worked to very tight time schedules to deliver a quality space for Flinders.
  • Hope that all is well with you.
  • In response to your email, ….
  • Thank you for your e-mail. ….

if not doing something

  • If you did not manage to make the sessions, we would urge you to pick up a copy of the material from the School Office and (as discussed in the documentation and in the recording) either fill out Form A (if you are a first year student and you are happy for us to determine your Program of Study) or make an appointment to see your Director of Studies.

Away

  • I will be away all of next week and will contact you as soon as I get back.

 

 

SENDING an ATTACHMENT

My resume and a cover letter are attached.
I have attached my resume and a cover letter.

Ending
“Just let me know if you have any questions.” (to end the email)
“Drop me an email, or give me a ring, if you want any more information.” (to end the email)
Sincerely / Yours sincerely / Sincerely yours, (for all customers/clients)
Regards, (for those you already know and/or with whom you already have a working relationship.)

When you’ve answered someone’s question(s)
Very formal
“I trust the above resolves your queries. Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.”
• More informal/friendly
“I know that’s a lot to take in, so let me know if anything I’ve said doesn’t make sense.”
“Hope the above helps, but email again if you’re still having any difficulties.”

When you’re making a request
Very formal
“I would appreciate your help in this matter.”
I would be grateful if you could…
More informal/friendly
“Could you look into this?”
“Would you mind checking it out for me?”
“Thanks in advance.”
“Can you get back to me once you’ve had a chance to investigate?”
“I’d love to hear your advice on this one.”
Could you please send me . . .
Could you possibly tell us/let us have…
It would be helpful if you could send us …
I am interested in (obtaining/receiving…)
Please let me know what action you propose to take.

When you need a response (but not necessarily any action taking)
Very formal
“I await a response at your earliest convenience.”
More informal/friendly
“Can you drop me a quick word so I know you’ve received this?”
“Look forward to hearing from you.”

Giving good news
We are pleased to announce that …
I am delighted to inform you that …
You will be pleased to learn that …

Giving bad news
We regret to inform you that …
I’m afraid it would not be possible to …
Unfortunately we cannot/we are unable to …
After careful consideration we have decided (not) to …

When you’ve heard nothing back and want to chase up a reply
Very formal
“In reference to my email of June 20th …”
More informal/friendly
“Just wondered if you got my email (June 20th)?”
“When you get a moment, could you drop me a line about my last email?”

Complaining
I am writing to express my dissatisfaction with …
I am writing to complain about …
Please note that the goods we ordered on (date) have not yet arrived.
We regret to inform you that our order n°— is now considerably overdue.
I would like to query the transport charges which seem unusually high.

Apologizing
We are sorry for the delay in replying …
I regret any inconvenience caused
I would like to apologize for (the delay/the inconvenience) …
Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience.

Pass to others

  • I should be gratefuf if you would note and distribute this information to relevant staff within your
    area to ensure that information and communications systems and policies and procedures for
    which you are responsible are updated.

Links

  • Information about the course changes is available at the following website:
  • For more details, please visit

 

Looking forward to a Reply
Looking forward to hearing from you
I would appreciate a reply at your earliest convenience.
An early reply would be appreciated.

Referring to the future Cooperation
We look forward to a successful working relationship in the future
We would be (very) pleased to do business with your company.
I would be happy to have an opportunity to work with your firm.
I look forward to seeing you next week
I look forward to meeting you on the 15th

Ending

  • I am looking forward to hearing from you.
  • Looking forward to your reply.
  • Looking forward to seeing you.
  • Looking forward to meeting you.
  • If you have questions or need assistance please contact me at …..
  • For further information, please contact ……
  • As always, I take this opportunity to wish you well in your future studies/life/business.

 

Regards

  • Best regards,
  • Kind regards,
  • regards,
  • your sincerely,
  • yours,
  • cheers,
  • Best wishes,
  • Happy eating,
  • All the best,

Leave a comment

Categories