Posted by: tonyteaching | December 28, 2009

Also

“Also” is used in positive sentences to add an agreeing thought.

PLACEMENT

“Also” comes after “to be”

Examples:

  • I am also Canadian.
  • I was also there.

With verbs other than “to be,” “also” comes before single verb forms.

Examples:

  • I also sing.
  • He also helped us.

In verb tenses with many parts (more than one verbs), “also” comes after the first part and before the second.

Examples:

  • I have also been to Hong Kong.
  • I am also studying economics.

Similarly, since modal verbs are usually followed by a second verb, “also” comes after modal verbs.

Examples:

  • I can also speak French.
  • I should also be there.

Responses

  1. thanks brada..nice 2 meet u..


Leave a Reply

Categories

