Posted by: tonyteaching | February 12, 2009

Excel 2007: Modifying CHART LEGEND

  1. Click the chart that displays the legend entries that you want to edit.

    This displays the Chart Tools, adding the Design, Layout, and Format tabs.

  2. On the Design tab, in the Data group, click Select Data.Excel Ribbon Image
  3. In the Select Data Source dialog box, in the Legend Entries (Series) box, select the legend entry that you want to change.
  4. Click Edit. Tip   To add a new legend entry, click Add, or to remove a legend entry, click Remove.
    1. In the Series Name box, do one of the following:
    2. Type the reference to the worksheet cell that contains the data that you want to use as the legend entry text. Tip   You can also click the Collapse Dialog button Button image at the right end of the Series name box, and then select the worksheet cell that contains the data that you want to use as the legend entry. When you finish, click the Collapse Dialog button again to display the entire dialog box.
    • Type the legend entry name that you want to use. Note   When you type a new name, the legend entry text is no longer linked to data in a worksheet cell.
    • To add a new legend entry, type the reference to the worksheet cell or type a new name and then, in the Series values box, type a reference to the data series on the worksheet that you want to use for the new legend entry. Tip   You can also click the Collapse Dialog button Button image at the right end of the Series values box, and then select the data series that you want to use for the new legend entry. When you finish, click the Collapse Dialog button again to display the entire dialog box

  • Responses

    1. Hi Tony,

      I’m working with a graph in Excel 2007, and I want to change the format of one of the data series. For example I have data from Mar’09 to Oct’09. I want to show the Oct’09 data as a different colour, but when I change the colour, my legend goes from showing what the entire data series represents, including the trendline and instead it’s replaced with a label for each data series, Eg, Mar’09, Apr’09, etc, etc. I dont’ want the legend to show the months, I only want it to show what the data series and trendlines are, but I also want to change the format of the Oct’09 data point,

      Any ideas?

      Thanks
      Damien

    2. Damien, the easiest way to modify format an object (in your case is Oct’09 data) is selecting the object/data then directly change the format (just pick the color on the color icon, font style, …)
      If you don’t want to show a legend or title you can un-tick the option on the tab (Design, Layout, or Format tab..sorry I am forget the tab name now I am answering your question using Ms Excel 2003 you need to check the tab on Excel 2007:).

    3. thank you it helps me in time……..

    4. Hi,

      I have a few things I need accomplished in Excel 2007:
      I’m trying to create a buttons on a grid that when pressed, count one time. This count, I’m hoping, will automatically be tabulated from spreadsheet to spreadsheet (I already figured how to do that part–easier than I thought). I know, or am kind of sure, that you have to go to the developer and create a macro to do this. Tell me please if I’m wrong here. I’m very novice at this and attempted this already and failed.

      Can you tell me PRECISELY how to do this and what macro language I need to put in the file? Precisely for me means from point A to point B, because I don’t think I’m creating the macro correctly and/or installing/running it correctly. PLEASE give me step by step.

      Thanks bunches of o’s

      Bill

    5. How do you rearrange the order of the Legend Entries in Excel 2007? If this is possible, it seems to be well hidden.


    Leave a Reply

        Categories

